Sisters of Slaughter

Produced by: Games Workshop

Line: Fantasy

Find it: Ebay

Summary

I wanted to test some new skin tones. One pale, and one a little more purple. I guess kind of like Night Elves from WoW. Fun fact, the idea for it came from this video. Though I don’t have many Citidel or P3 paints, so I had to improvise.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Pale Skin (Nocturna specialty)
  2. Dead White
  3. Violet Ink

Reaper

  1. Fair Highlight
  2. Rosy Skin

Techniques

  • Pale Skin
    • Base in Pale Skin
    • Layer up with a 2:1 mix of Pale Skin and Fair Highlight
    • Layer up to a 1:1 mix of the same
    • Then a 1:2 mix
    • Highlight with thinned Dead White
  • Purple Skin
    • Base in a 1:1 mix of Dead White and Violet Ink (for future reference this will be called Faux Genestealer… Because it’s actually really close to Citidel’s Genestealer Purple)
    • Layer up with a 2:1 mix of Faux Genestealer and Rosy Skin
    • Layer up to a 1:1 mix of the same
    • Then a 1:2 mix

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

Definitely some things I would change about both of these. First off the pale skin. Instead of layering up to a 1:2 mix, I’d either make it a 1:3 mix or highlight with pure Fair Highlight instead of Dead White… Never highlight skin with Dead White…

For the purple skin, all I’d change is one simple, but big thing. When layering up, that first mix of a 2:1 of Faux Genestealer and Rosy Skin, should really be more broad. It should cover all but the deepest recesses, things like the lines around clothing, navel, cleavage, arm pits, and spinal area.

