Tenebrael Shard

Produced by: Games Workshop

Line: Silver Tower

Find it: Ebay

Summary

This is another one of those models that I didn’t have anything specific I wanted to try or experiment with, but I decided it would be a fairly ambitious project for me. I took the opurtunity to try some new paints, namely the Vellejo Dark Green, and some of the flesh tones I used for the leather scraps. I also decided to try eyes for the first time. Both the face and the pants were a test in brush control. If you’re curious as to how I did the eyes, watch this. I used the technique where you paint black underneath and dot the whites in on either side of it.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Black
  2. Dark Green
  3. Goblin Green
  4. Pale Flesh (Nocturna Special)
  5. Dead White
  6. Leather Brown
  7. Bone White
  8. Stonewall Grey
  9. Malefic Flesh (Nocturna Special)
  10. Skin Wash
  11. Beasty Brown
  12. Black Ink
  13. Green Ink
  14. Forest Skin (Nocturna Special)

Reaper

  1. Rosy Shadow
  2. Rosy Skin
  3. Fair Highlights

Citidel

  1. Aggrax Earthshade
  2. Leadbelcher
  3. Balthasar Gold

Techniques

  • Skin
    • Base with Rosy Shadow
    • Layer up with 2:1 Rosy Shadow to Rosy Skin
    • Layer up with 1:1 Rosy Shadow to Rosy Skin
    • Layer up with 1:2 Rosy Shadow to Rosy Skin
    • Layer up with Rosy Skin
    • Fine highlights with 1:1 mix of Rosy Skin and Fair Highlights
  • Pants
    • Base in Dark Green
    • Highlight in 2:1 combo of Dark Green and Goblin Green
  • Hair
    • Base in pale flesh
    • Highlight with thinned Dead White
  • Bronze Armor and Chains
    • Balthasar Gold
  • Silver Armor and Blades
    • Leadbelcher
  • Leather Arm Straps
    • Base with Leather Brown
    • Highlight 1:1 mix of Dead White and Leather Brown
  • Leather Scrap Right (the model’s right)
    • Base in Malefic Flesh
    • Wash with Skin Wash
    • Highlight with Malefic Flesh
    • Paint stitches with Beasty Brown
  • Leather Scrap Middle
    • Base with 1:1 ratio of Leather Brown and Dead White
    • Wash with Aggrax Earthshade
    • Highlight with thinned Bone White
    • Paint stitches with Beasty Brown
  • Skull Attached to Middle Scrap
    • Base in Bone White
    • Wash with Aggrax Earthshade
    • Highlight in Bone White
  • Leather Scrap Left
    • Base in Stonewall Grey
    • Wash with Aggrax Earthshade
    • Highlight with Stonewall Grey
    • Paint Stitches with Beasty Brown
  • Eyes
    • Base in Black
    • Dot in sides of eyes with Dead White
  • Base Rocks
    • Base with Leadbelcher
    • Wash with thinned Black Ink
    • Drybrush with Stonewall Grey
  • Vine
    • Base Leather Brown
    • Wash in Green Ink
    • Drybrush with Bonewhite
  • Base Floor
    • Base in Forest Skin
    • Lightly drybrush with Bonewhite
  • Mouth
    • Wash in thinned Black Ink
    • Use thinned white

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

I think the main thing I took away from this model is brush control. I think there were a few parts where I started getting impatient and it shows. The eyes and hair in particular.

Aside from that though, I think I would have used either a lighter base, or a darker white highlight. Maybe Bonewhite instead of Dead White?

