Tau – Pathfinder Drones

Produced by: Games Workshop

Line: Warhammer 40K

Find it: Amazon or Ebay

Summary

I got the Tau Pathfinder set as a gift for Xmas. Part of the reason I chose the color scheme I did is because I have some left over paints from the Warhammer Painters Starter Kit. So I wanted to use up some of the Leadbelcher and MaCragge Blue from it. Initially I was a little worried about the colors actually.

Blue and orange is a wonderful combination, one of my favorites. But when I got all the base colors down something just looked off with the models. Thankfully, the next day when I added the metallics and highlights, everything seemed to gel.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Orange Fire
  2. Sun Yellow
  3. Blue Ink
  4. Dead White

Citidel

  1. MaCragge Blue
  2. Leadbelcher
  3. Balthasar Gold

Techniques

  • Dark Blue
    1. Base with Macragge Blue
    2. Highlight with thin layer of 1:1 mix Macragge Blue and Dead White
  • Light Blue
    1. Base with 1:1 mix of Blue Ink and Dead White
    2. Highlight with a 1:3 mix Blue Ink to Dead White
  • Orange
    1. Base with Orange Fire
    2. Highlight with Sun Yellow
  • Gold Accents
    1. Balthasar Gold
  • Silver Accents
    1. Leadbelcher

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

The only thing I would try and do differently here is to have a little more brush control when it came to some of the highlights and recessed areas on the larger drone. That and I might add some highlights on the metallic Leadbelcher parts using Vellejo Silver. Maybe paint more of the models before assembling them to get better and easier access.

