Eldar – Howling Banshee Exarch

Produced by: Games Workshop

Line: Warhammer 40K

Find it: Ebay

Summary

Another model I did just because I liked the look of it. But I figured I’d use it as an excuse to try some new things. I recently came up with a combination of Leather Brown and Dead White to make a khaki color and wanted to use it. I also wanted to try making a stone base out of some quarter inch cork board that I got from the office store down the road. In order to paint it I used a similar process to this model. And see how well I get get a bright red hair/plume.

Something else to bare in mind is that the metal arms of the model required a little bit of tweaking to line up. For whatever reason when I got them they didn’t line up at the elbows so I had to bend the weapon just a fraction and fill in the gaps of the elbows with some extra super glue.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Leather Brown
  2. Dead White
  3. Orange Fire
  4. Bloody Red
  5. Bone White
  6. Goblin Green
  7. Green Ink
  8. Black
  9. Stonewall Grey
  10. Black Ink
  11. Silver

Citidel

  1. Agrax Earth Shade
  2. Leadbelcher

Techniques

  • Khaki Armor
    1. Base with 1:1 of Leather Brown and Dead White
    2. Shade with Agrax Earthshade
    3. Re-coat (but avoid recessed areas) with a thinned down Leather Brown:Dead White
    4. Thin highlight with 1:3 ratio of Leather Brown and Dead White
  • Tan Armor Accents
    1. Base of Bone White
    2. Highlight with 1:1 mix of Bone White and Dead White
  • Green Armor Accents
    1. Goblin Green base
    2. Highlight of 1:1 Goblin Green and Dead White
  • Green Tabard
    1. Base with Goblin Green
    2. Green Ink wash
    3. Highlight with 1:1 ratio of Goblin Green and Dead White
  • Red Plume
    1. Base with Bloody Red (may have to do 3 or 4 coats to get an even color on sharp edges)
    2. Highlight with Orange Fire
  • Black
    1. Base in Black
    2. Highlight with 3:1 ratio of Black and Stonewall Grey
  • Orange Eyes
    1. Orange Fire base
    2. Use some thinned down Orange fire on the armor around the eyes to give it a glowing effect
  • Rock Base
    1. Base of Leadbelcher
    2. Heavy Drybrush of 3:1 mix of Black and Stonewall Grey
    3. Black Ink wash
    4. Light Drybrush of Stonewall Grey
  • Blades
    1. Base with Leadbelcher
    2. Highlight edges and ridges with Silver
  • Silver Accents
    1. Silver

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

For the experiment this was I like how it turned out. I think the next time I would try layering the highlights a little more thinly on the Khaki, so they aren’t quite as noticeable. I think I’d also try and clean up the highlights on the green bits. As well as clip off the bar connecting the two feet and pin the model properly to the cork.

