Tombstone of Protection

Produced by: Reaper

Line: Dark Heaven Legends

Find it: Here

Summary

This was one of those models that you know exactly what you want to do with it when you see the picture online. I wanted to go for a dark marble sort of look and I was curious to see if I could get such an effect without doing any research. So the first though I had was to just look at some rocks. A lot of them I noticed had a slight metallic sheen to them, but overplayed with larger more opaque sections on the exterior. From there I had an idea on what to do.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Gunmetal
  2. Black Ink
  3. Stonewall Grey

Techniques

  • Dark Stone
    1. Base with Gunmetal
    2. Wash with Black Ink
    3. Light Dry Brush with Stonewall Grey (start off with less rather than more, it’s easy to overdue it here)
    4. Highlight some of the more prominent edges and corners with a thin line of Stonewall

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

This is one of those things that’s really quick and easy. I’m really happy with how it turned out (and part of that is a little bit of pride at just coming up with this process). But there was that awkward moment when I loaded my drybrush and thought “this might be too much paint…” And yeah it totally was. Easily fixed though.

