Sisters of Battle – Seraphim

Produced by: Games Workshop

Line: Warhammer 40K

Find it: GW… Ooooooor cheaper on Ebay

Summary

Not going to lie, I just like the Sisters of Battle. And I happened to stumble across one for cheap so I figured, why not? I wanted to try something different from any of the ordinary color schemes though. I wanted to see if I could find something a little more neutral and regal, so I favored a dark grey, a light grey, and added in a tertiary of a light violet/blue.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Stonewall Grey
  2. Black
  3. Dead White
  4. Blue Ink
  5. Polished Gold
  6. Bronzed Flesh
  7. Bone White

Citidel

  1. Leadbelcher

Techniques

  • Dark Grey Armor
    1. Base with 1:1 Stonewall Grey and Black
    2. Highlight with 3:1 Stonewall Grey and Black
  • Light Grey Armor
    1. Base with Stonewall Grey
    2. Highlight with 2:1 Stonewall Grey and Dead White
  • Cloth
    1. Base with 2:1 mix of Blue Ink and Dead White
    2. Highlight with 1:1 ratio
  • Gold
    1. Polished Gold
  • Black
    1. Black
  • Silver
    1. Leadbelcher
  • Hair
    1. Dead White
  • Skin
    1. 1:10ish ratio of Bronzed Flesh and Bone White

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

Doing it again, I’d make sure I thinned my paints a little more. I’d also add more shades of light grey or off white to the hair to give it some more depth. And lastly I’d add some more distinct highlights to the lighter grey sections of armor. I should also actually put some effort and layering into the face.

