Space Marines – Ultramarines

Produced by: Games Workshop

Line: Warhammer 40K

Summary

It was time to jump in. I had been doing research for a while about how to paint miniatures and thankfully at my local game shop, they had an Ultramarines starter paint kit that I found an easy to follow tutorial for online… It was discounted because it had been on the shelf for a long time but since acrylic paint is water soluble, that wasn’t a problem… Mostly.

The primer was shot, and the terrain paint was difficult to get the consistency correct on. But overall it was a great experience and I consider it a solid first success.

Paints

Vellejo

  1. Black Primer

Citidel

  1. Macragge Blue
  2. Balthasar Gold
  3. Agrax Earthshade
  4. Leadbelcher
  5. Ceramite White
  6. Drakenhof Nightshade
  7. Agrellan Earth

Techniques

  • Blue Armor
    1. Base with Macragge Blue
    2. Shade with Drakenhof Nightshade
  • Gold Accents
    1. Base with Balthasar Gold
    2. Shade with Agrax Earthshade
  • Silver Accents
    1. Base with Leadbelcher
  • White Details
    1. Base with Ceramite White
  • Base
    1. Base thickly with Agrellan Earth
    2. Redefine sides with Black Primer

What I Learned/What I’d Do Differently

Realistically as I look back at this project, the only thing I think I should have done differently was to take some extra Macragge Blue and make some edge highlights.

I might have also done the same with the white details. Base it with an off-white and highlight it with Ceramite White.

